Her name is Denyque : Made in Jamaica

If I can talk about one album that loaded us all summer, it might be Denyque’s. Discovered at random while I was chilling on Spotify ( that appli is precious), I was immediately taken by the rythm that smells holidays, and the singers’ sweet voice. Moreover, I got a big crush for the album cover, with a pop and pepsy illustration, hot! I want the same one … who wants to draw one for me ? I’ll pay you with Kinders!  (What ? Everybody loves Kinders)

EP-Cover_turq1
The album is actually an EP, meaning a mini-album, made with 6 titles:

1- Where I Belong
2- How To Rave
3- Ring the Alarm
4- Lock & Key
5- Slowly
6- Make Me Believe You (feat. Konshens) [Remix]

I only knew about her the song “Can’t Breathe”, out in 2010 I think, and I used to listen to it like everyday , but I didn’t pay attention to the other songs. Now, I dare you not to smile and start moving your body on this! The Jamaican origins of the singer can clearly be heard, with a sweet mix of Pop, R&B, Reagga and a touch of Dancehall rythm. Produced by Ricky Blaze, aka the guy who made some hits with artists like Jazmine Sullivan, Vybz Kartel, Major Lazer or Gyptian, Denyque armed herself with a good value, and I think the result is here.

Choosing “Her name is Denyque” as an album title is simple and efficient. Denyque is in da place ! Still unknown from the big public, it turns out that the young singer wants to set herself in the industry little by little, in order to gather as much fans as possible to do a real album.

Rightly, the only bad point, well it’s that there are not enough songs, I want more ! Yet, Denyque has succeded in giving us a pretty pattern, from the most pop to the most dance hall song. “Where I belong and “Ring the Alarm” are the most pop and commercials titles, according to me. When I say “commercials”, I mean these remixed songs made to conquer a larger public than the adepts of the original music style. That kind of song that can be played in every dance-club, thanks to this electro rythm … you see what I’m talking about? But at least, she didn’t do it too much, I’m mostly talking about “Ring the Alarm”. “Make me believe” featuring Konshens (bubble gyal a bubble … bubble gyal a bubble … *Konshen’s voice*) and  “How to Rave” seem to be the ones that have Reagga/Dancehall sounds to me.

How to Rave is my favorite I guess…

So, do you valid this discovery? I hope I made you want to know more about her 🙂

 

 

Link to listen to the album with  Spotify

 

 

Comments

comments

1760 views

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Her name is Denyque : Made in Jamaïque

Si il y a bien un album qui nous a embarquées tout l’été , c’est bien celui de Denyque. Découvert par hasard en me balladant sur Spotify (un bijou cette appli) , j’ai été de suite emportée par la jolie voix de la chanteuse et ce rythme qui sent bon les vacances. En plus de ça, gros coup de coeur pour la pochette de son album, avec une illustration pop et peps, c’est canon! Je veux la même … qui veut bien me dessiner? Je vous paye en Kinder ! (Bin quoi ? Tout le monde aime les Kinder)

EP-Cover_turq1

L’album est en réalité un EP, c’est-à-dire un mini-album, composé  de 6 titres :

1- Where I Belong
2- How To Rave
3- Ring the Alarm
4- Lock & Key
5- Slowly
6- Make Me Believe You (feat. Konshens) [Remix]

Je ne connaissais d’elle que le titre « Can’t Breathe » sorti en 2010 il me semble, et je l’écoutais déjà en boucle, mais je ne me suis pas penchée sur ses autres titres. Maintenant, je vous défie de ne pas sourire et commencer à bouger dessus ! Les origines jamaïcaines de la chanteuse se font bien sentir, avec un doux mélange de Pop, R&B , de Reagga et une touche de Danceall. Produite par Ricky Blaze, aka le mec à l’origine des hits d’artistes comme Jazmine Sullivan, Vybz Kartel, Major Lazer ou encore Gyptian, Denyque s’est armée d’une valeur sûre et je pense que le résultat est là.

Le choix de titre  d’album « Her Name is Denyque » est simple et efficace. Denyque est dans la place ! Encore inconnue du grand public, il s’avère que la jeune chanteuse tient à prendre place petit à petit sur le devant de la scène, afin de rassembler le plus de fans possible pour sortir un réel album.

Justement, le seul bémol du coup , bin c’est qu’il n’y a pas assez de chansons, j’en veux encore ! Mais Denyque a quand même réussi à nous donner un joli pannel, du son le plus Pop au plus Dancehall. « Where I belong » et « Ring the Alarm » sont les titres les plus pops et commerciaux . Quand je dis commerciaux, je parle bien de ces sons remixés de manière à conquérir un public plus large que les adeptes du style de musique d’origine.  Ce genre de titres qui passent crème dans n’importe quelle boîte, grâce à ce rythme un peu électro sur les bords … vous voyez ? Et là encore, elle n’en a pas trop fait, je parle surtout de « Ring the Alarm« . « Make me believe » en featuring avec Konshen (bubble gyal a bubble … bubble gyal a bubble … *Konshen’s voice*) et « How to Rave » semblent être ceux qui ont le plus de sonorités Reagga /Dancehall.

How to Rave est mon titre préféré je pense ….

 

 

Alors, on valide cette découverte ? J’espère vous avoir donné envie d’en savoir plus sur elle 🙂

Album disponible à découvrir sur   Spotify

 

 

Comments

comments

1068 views

Leave a reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *